Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

May 10, 2003 - 8:28 p.m.

Mother's Day...

If you are reading this� If I am reading this, diaryland hasn�t taken into account that as a newly poor, previously spoiled student, I may be using an internet caf� and intensely resent this waiting business to use their free and excessively convenient site. However, y�all may notice that entries will be blooming in bunches, cropping up in untasteful clumps, because, as mentioned, I now have no internet chez moi.

So, im at home for mother�s day� enjoying another typical family discussion at the dinner table. My mother has a new topic of obsession � my new apartment. Today�s decorating challenge = my unsightly curtain rods. No mom, I don�t want draperies� well yes, I understand, you have such a nice view� yes, mom, I know� I like to look outside� mmmm hmmm�. Oh, really? On Debbie Travis?� or was it Designer guys? �. Yes, I remember that stuff you had up at christmas� well, I thought maybe� yes, I�m trying to picture the metallic burlap wrapped around the rods� didn�t you like the way that looked, or were you just humouring me? � well, I�d never thought of it as metallic burlap.

So my mom�s ocd has a new, limitless outlet. We we�re at ikea today, stocking up on 7 piece bathroom accessory kits and folding dish strainers. Oooooh, and food. My brother as usual is being waited on hand and foot. He waltzes in 20 minutes after we�ve all sat down to eat, �instead of in I should say up� as in, from the basement� they keep expecting his behaviour to miraculously change from lazy lout to gung-ho university super keen� yet, they keep wondering why this type of slack keeps happening� as they pour his water and put his food on the table. Some things I just don�t get. And it isn�t just me being a girl, cause they�re not at all sexist, my mom runs this house. I�d have to venture that they always chalked It up to me being the older sibling and him being too young yet� and then they just kept pushing the maturity date back � and back�

Yo mom� he�s expired. Yeah, I seem to recall buying all my own shit at fourteen or fifteen. My brother�s 18 and he�s never even cleaned a bathroom. Mom�s excited he knows how to do laundry� and does it sometimes. Maybe it�s time he got a job and didn�t quit because it was too boring, or too hot or because they actually wanted him to know something about the product.

Am I being harsh? Probably, I guess it just makes me wonder how, when I work my ass off for my tuition money, he�s gonna expect to just ride on through. Sure, I�ve got a lot of stuff.. which I realized when I was trying to move� but at least I earned or bargained for most of it. I�ve been planning for years. For him.. if he doesn�t have it right in front of his face, he�ll just forget to buy it, or clean it, or eat it. He has to be reminded to eat. And I say all this now� so I don�t say this to them� or him for that matter. I�m not the parent here. And fuck, it�s mother�s day� she did just fine with me� and him too maybe� I say this grudgingly� I think I�ll go and consider her next spark of genius to deal with the menacing curtain rod dilemma.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!