Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 09, 2004 - 1:12 p.m.

trying to recall

what she meant

when she said

what she said

so much that was not

supposed to be said out loud

and somehow it all seemed normal

and sweet

not wierd

and unaffected

we were left

to choose our own time to leave

and so, singing,

'I'm just a girl, take a good look at me

Just your typical prototype

Oh, I've had it up to here

Oh, am I making myself clear?

Am I making myself clear?

I'm just a girl, I'm just a girl

I'm just a girl, in the world

That's all the you'll let be

I'm just a girl living in captivity

Your rules of thumb makes me worrisome

I'm just a girl what's my destiny?

What I've succumbed to, it's making numb

I'm just a girl, my apologies

What I've become is so burdensome

I'm just a girl, lucky me

Tweedledum there's no comparison

Oh, I've had it up to, oh, I've had it up...'

to here

we tumble into bed and sing- there

our own illustrations, the pictures on the walls,

our bodies become more legible the less we conceal them

scaling the walls with our shadows and reminding ourselves to look

closer

you scale me, my skin lies on the floor and i am

undone

please take me in pieces,

build me up and knock me down

strike one

i've lost count

and we sleep,

so we sleep and i forget

all but the feeling that something has happened

five o'clock brings calls across the quad, singing sweet ladies in black, a group homogeneous in their difference, deliberate and striking, call out into the warmest air we've felt for months, and we carry armloads of cardboard, peeping open, unable to conceal the photographs that tell secrets that aren't really secrets because the truth is in our eyes, the truth is in letters like s, d and s and all the things that those letters stand for.

and the people know, and i am not shy, it is written in print more than my beaming eyes can say.

it is that skin that lights me,

and other confessions, not private except in the context of each person's thoughts, reflected in scenes of scattered objects on floors, that recalls in us the same experiences of nostalgia... that day... could be that night. it was last night, following an afternoon of wine and sunshine

that recreated that image, all images...

we live in each picture and recreate it every moment we relive that feeling

i am pulled

i am stripped down

i am so content

and it has sent me to sleep

with a lazy perfect smile

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!