Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

October 12, 2004 - 4:01 p.m.

complex concepts seem to unfold themselves
easily,
whereas those simpler statements...
like,
'today is tuesday'
seem harder to grasp
today, which feels like wednesday.
wasting time
and waiting.
'the clicks' tick tock through my head
through speakers that leave much to be desired.

smashing debut album, the critics rave...i rave more quietly, but still.
i liked her solos of five years ago... they remind me of backseats.

a diamond ring burried in the yard...

the pears are bruised, and we will be reimbursed
but who
can pay us for our time?

two dollar lattes on tuesdays.
i Should know what day it is...
i look forward to tuesdays all week.
almost as much as fridays...
but i never thank god.
cause i'm not sure that one exists.

and i am thankful,
on this long holiday weekend...
not for the plenty,
but because we have made the time to see.
to really notice the absence that we create
in busy lives
to be with our chosen families and to forget
for one blissful moment
the real meaning of thanksgiving.
the holiday that i fondly refer to as the celebration of a decimated culture, displaced by colonialism.
another scapegoat is created and we feel fuller.

if i wanted an unbruised pear
i should have walked into a field,
and picked it myself
grown it too, for that matter.

i am thankful for feeling that my own complicit guilt in these matters
is not
lost on me.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!