Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

November 27, 2004 - 3:13 p.m.

My mom and dad met on St Patrick's day in the small university town where they were going to school. She thought he was an idiot. eventually his sweetness won her over and she realized what a smart, giving person he was. They got married and waited til they were 30 to have me. My mom's a very strong, creative, eccentric Drama/English/Art teacher, as well as actor, director, artist... My dad is a hydraulic engineer who totally forgives me for being appallingly bad at math. They gave me tons of freedom and respect when i was growing up which lead me to become a smart-mouth, independent, ambitious, don't-take-shit from anyone type of girl, who hides a very sensitive mushy inside. My little brother is at university for Engineering,... just like my dad, I'm following in my mom's footsteps, literally, getting the same degree as she did... except for the Sexual Diversity Studies. Although i'm sure she did studying of her own..

My parents travelled with us a lot, put us in all the activities we could handle and expected a lot of us. But they gave so much of their time and support to us as well. I always talk about my mother and how amazing she is, but really my dad is the unsung hero of my life. He gave up so much time, and sacrificed a lot so that my mother could pursue her interests, career etc. He was the only dad at every single dance competition, and although he couldn't help put my lipstick on or do my hair in a bun, he was my biggest fan.

The eccentricities and clash of personalities, and the fact that we're all very hyperbolic emotionally, led to lots of arguing when we were growing up, but it also meant that we got things off our chests and I have never doubted for a minute how much they care about me. They're coming today to take me and my girlfriend out for lunch... driving three hours just to see us for a couple of hours.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!