Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 17, 2005 - 11:04 p.m.

re-education:
some things that irk me... generally and specifically.
You've already heard my bit on cross-minority bigotry... fun stuff like gay bashing by racial minorities, or racism in the trans community...
however, in everyday life... I feel so compelled to level people who use obscenely offensive language (and I'm not talking expletives that get replaced by numbers, signs and exclamation marks ()@#$*&!!).

but #@*&%! seriously.
I'm so tired of seeing people write/say/giggle/sneer

the following:

"that is so gay"

(um. no it's not. the object/subject you're talking about has NO sexual orientation, nor is it happy. Get a better vocabulary, grow up and learn to be specific and sensitive to other people.)

"that is so retarded"

(equally offensive and as widely embraced as a synonym for "dumb" "stupid" etc. Even if you're refering to yourself, consider the fact that someone within earshot MAY ACTUALLY HAVE A LIVED EXPERIENCE PERTAINING TO THE OFFENSIVE SLANG YOU USE WITHOUT THINKING ABOUT IT).

Unless you also think it's okay to walk around saying ...

"that's so _______ (fill in ethnic/racial/religious slang)"

OR

"that's so _______ (rape, abuse or any other actual situation/experience people have that gets trivialized by people's misuse of words).

I can think of many appropriate words to attach to those who find themselves doing these things. If you would like a list... please consult a dictionary. what particularly saddens me is that so often the people I see doing this are individuals that get lumped into stereotyped categories themselves. Try someone else's shoes on for just one second. I dare you.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!