Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 26, 2005 - 12:35 p.m.

it's boxing day and i've already sampled four flavours of fudge,
12:35 and I'm on to the toblerone bar.

dark chocolate is a weakness, especially since they announced the minor health benefits...
i don't think they had this in mind, at least not in such quantities.

I have leftover turkey in the fridge to eat before i go to work, where I'll box with the nazi chef and try to keep the daggers on his side of the counter.

I am unrepentant in my love of holiday meals. I stripped the turkey with my bare hands after carving it with new, too-sharp knives and slicing my finger. the turkey's revenge.

The kittens came out to play, keeping me up all night like little reindeer, pawing at the roof and my sleeping cheeks. Now they are home in their big city, watching pedestrian ants on the sidewalk, chasing snowflakes with their eyes and purring after a weekend of playing in a new house, with babies, bunnies, dogs and strange distant relative cats.
The coyotes howled as we walked home in the snow, and in my coat, the kitten purred, tired out after dominoes and eggnog.

Before new year's i'll try to have done all the things i might be tempted to make a resolution to finish. If not, i'll resolve not to make unrealistic resolutions. Maybe this new year will bring less complication, more fluff and tiger stripes, a new cover for our mattress and more cozy nights to keep it all warm and under wraps.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!