Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

January 25, 2006 - 5:25 p.m.

things you don't know.

i am a mild hypochondriac.
after my first ever french-kiss i was conviced that i would die of meningitis. case in point.
i have a curved linear scar on my left cheek.
i've been a dancer for almost twenty years.
i attended the national ballet school, have a penchant for musical theatre and have won gold medals in international dance competitions.
although I am a hardcore packrat and extremely nostalgic, I don't think I have those medals still.
I do still have all the diaries and journals I ever wrote. there are about 30 of them.
i keep old letters, cards, tickets and bits of ribbon.
i sent myself home early from an international exchange program, just shy of one full year abroad.
I speak french, portuguese, english and snippets of german and hungarian (mostly food names and threats)
i hate videogames, or, more accurately, i dislike watching people play videogames and get bored quite easily by them, except "Lemmings" and Mario racing.
i read very slowly, but thoroughly.
i still count on my fingers sometimes, and when alphabetizing i list off each letter alphabetically, corresponding to it's note in the song.
i often discover embarassing cassette tapes, complete with sounds of a vaccuum cleaner in the background, with renditions of out-of-tune andrew lloyd weber songs, like Memory and Don't Cry for Me Argentina.
i've traveled throughout South, Central and North America, Europe and a handful of tropical islands.
i feel very passionately about human rights, animal rights, queer rights and equity work in general.
I'm bad with dates and times, but have a disturbingly keen memory for whole sections of dialogue, lyrics, titles of obscure documents and can recall names, faces and minute details about people I may not have seen and only knew very briefly, years and years ago... exact things they said, what they were wearing, what their parent's names and professions were and that they missed two days of school because they went to Hawaii during march break.
i was 5'7 by the time I was in grade 6.
i broke a bone in my foot on stage during a performance and completed the rest of the number. i let myself cry offstage before driving home to Canada and going to the hospital. We were in New York.
My drink of choice is red wine. shiraz usually. but i'm pretty easy and can drink just about anything. sometimes wine feels silly.
I suck at basketball.
However, I played competitive sports, volleyball, field-hockey and soccer, managing to break 4 field-hockey sticks and one girl's leg.
I've only gotten one D in my life. In Grade Two, in Listening. I have since learned to raise my hand.
I grew up with no less than 3 cats at any one time, although there was a period of 4 cats, a dog and 8 puppies.
we kept one pup and he and his mummy lived together until he passed away last year.
I now have two cats. a fat girl-cat and a scoundrel little boy kitten.
I used to be a "fashion model". Now I am a "hair" model, having acquired healthy eating habits, 30 pounds and a mind of my own. I have always been open to experimentation and intrigued my new foods, cultures and languages. I used to eat just about everything except unmelted cheese, raw tomatoes and tuna fish. After dating a greek girl I taught myself to enjoy all of the above, except tuna, as well as olives which I now crave. i'm not afraid of heights, insects, animals, needles or intimacy. I am a bit squeamish about horror movies. I've trampolined, done trapeze and performed with a circus. i'm addicted to dark chocolate and have an elaborate fantasy life. i resisted the L-word, yet found myself helplessly drawn to this problematic but seductive melodrama. growing up i never had cable, call waiting, nintendo, atari, gameboy or a computer (until grade 10), I thought CDs would be phase... but I traveled, learned to swim better than most adults, was taught to value my own ideas, to question authority and be nice to my brother.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!