Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

January 30, 2008 - 10:14 p.m.

There is always a metaphor of containment
where words have four corners

breaking from old cyles, and round metaphors,
how do I feel myself up against a point?

It hits weak flesh, the incision between teeth, canine,
the soft space
between ribs, bird-heart heaving in anticipation of flight and wary
watching the air for signs
heavy, hostile, sleek
any number of animals -
all stalking the bars
reaching between self-imposed restraints
restraint
it is a line
i smirk about its presumed straightness
the line, they call it chalk, they call it habit,
a tiny grain of sand can cause any number of infections,

we know how we are expected to behave
the play is well-made
i wait for the reversal
I have come to anticipate the fall

and it may be
that I am writing this
hoping for real drama
when all that is here
are words in measured boxes
a rubric of formality
i want to be harder
less predictable
to myself
i am looking
for the grain of sand

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!