Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

July 15, 2008 - 12:28 p.m.

When you moved out on your own
and had few possessions to take with you
i gave you my comforter to use in your new home
when you no longer needed it for yourself, it became your dog blanket: an apt metaphor.

i gave freely, over these years, of time, of patience, understanding, loyalty and support, when these were things that you needed.

Material possessions, hard edged canvasses and books of photographs, I would never ask to have them back. I gave them freely with all the affection I felt, infused into their surfaces. But as for those immaterial, soft things, like hearts and hours and thought, those are things I never thought to want back - given willingly - though I never believed would end up in the same state as my blanket.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!