Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

April 05, 2010 - 8:25 p.m.

My landlord watched me wrestling with the overflow of recycling in the parking lot of my building and asked, "you having fun?"

I commented that the building could do with more recycling containers and he said I should just throw it in the trash, then he made a racist remark about people getting hired to pick through the trash. After some back and forth he made his final point.

"I have a different attitude," he said, "I figure the world's already screwed."
"Yes," I answered, "and I don't want to be the one screwing it."

He mumbled something about our ancestors, shifting the blame, shuffling it around in his pockets with his hands. All I could think of was his kids, playing on the lawn while a cigarette dangled from his lips.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!