Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

December 16, 2012 - 1:27 p.m.

TEST DRIVE 1

The Mascara Files; aka 15 Mascaras in 15 months.

I'm one of those people who, if for some hypothetical reason I were only allowed to have two things in my make-up bag, would choose mascara as the close second to lip balm. For some reason my face feels flat and dead without it, despite having naturally black eye lashes.

Even though my teenage years, spent pouring over YM and Seventeen magazine, left me heartily convinced that Maybelline's Great Lash was the be-all-and-end-all of affordable mascara ... I have never stopped looking for the one... the other one that might work wonders.

So, logically amongst the other more worthwhile pursuits that occupy my time, the trivial one remains: find the best mascara, fall in love and then commit to using it instead of constantly searching and being tempted by every new, promise-filled product.

I have lashes that are long, but fairly straight. Eyes that have endured Laser Eye surgery and now require no contacts, but remain quite sensitive. So my mascara needs to be gentle, non-flaking, high impact and eye-opening.

Let's start with the drugstore brand. Mascara #1 -

The bright turquoise Mega Plush Volume Express by Maybelline. New counterpart to the old favourite. The mousse formula is glossy and gentle. Good coverage and easily removed at night. However, the mousse doesn't shape and curl the lashes as well as it might and it takes longer to dry. Unlike some other brands, there is no stiffness and hold (good for sensitive eyes, but lacking the transforming 'wow-factor.' No length is added, but they do look fatter and shinier. Pretty good for a drugstore brand, but 'Mega'is a bit of an overstatement.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!